Bees and Efs: ‘Forever Friends’ Don’t Always Last

Do you — or did you ever — have a Best Friend? Do you believe in the idea of one person whose friendship matters the most? Tell us a story about your BFF (or lack thereof).

There’s a funny thing I’ve noticed about BFF’s. For most people, the second ‘f’ is optional. To be honest, most people seem to think all of it is optional. People often go through best friends faster than they go through wardrobes. I am not one of those people. I do not even consider someone a friend unless we’ve been through several wardrobes together. By this, of course, I mean I prefer friends who are really my friends rather than people I’ve hung out with a few times. If we haven’t had time to really get to know each other and build trust, then we aren’t really friends. We’re acquaintances.

This is no different with my ‘best friend.’ Though, I would consider her more like a sister. We hardly see each other. In fact, we’ve never lived in the same state.

How are you like sisters if you’ve never lived in the same state, you ask?

Our fathers grew up together, and as a result we grew up together. Summers, holidays, every chance we get we spend together. It only adds up to a few visits each year, but our status as ‘besties’ still remains.

One of the funniest things about our friendship is that we are nothing alike, and I mean nothing alike. She is a sun-worshiping, hyper-social, extremely emotional, pop and country music-loving, chesty blonde. I am a night-loving, anti-social, not-so-emotional, rock music-loving, big booty brunette. Yes, our physical characteristics are as opposite as our psychological and emotional differences. She is the eldest of two with one brother while I am the youngest of four with three older brothers. We argue almost constantly when we are together, and we have trouble agreeing on activities to enjoy unless it involves going to Olive Garden (don’t judge! It’s our age-old tradition) and watching horror movies.

Despite all of our differences, I know she will always be there if I need her, and I will always be there for her. She is the sister I never had, and no matter where our lives take us, she will always be my best friend.

That is, in my opinion, what a true best friend is.

The family kind of forever.

 

Leave a Reply

